Going through my comment spam folder I noticed a different anchor text being used – SEO. Oh boy! I start laughing because I know this is going to be funny. What spammer with half a brain would go after that term?
I go and visit the page and it has banners for all the big SEO forums and a HUGE H1 text link to mattcutts.com. I personally know Matt and the people who run the big forums, none of them are spammers (or dumb enough to use comment spam for a legit established site). Someone is gonna piss off the wrong type of people. Maybe someone did this as a joke for Matt? They are linking to his site correctly (including the www). Would anyone think this would carry link popularity to MattCutts.com?
Now I’m thinking this is either someone trying to give SEO a blackeye or they are hiding their true content until the spiders have found the backlinks from the comment spam. I don’t see how comment spam is going to give SEO a blackeye, already been there and done that. If you are hiding your true content why take the chance of pissing off some big players. It would have been much smarter to rewrite the wiki page.
Am I missing something?
Want to profit online? Listen to Greg Niland aka GoodROI & Frank Watson aka AussieWebmaster every Monday night at 7pm EST on 